Give now!

Academic Affairs : People

Michelle Henry Barton

Michelle Henry Barton

Director of Clinical Academic Affairs
Callaway Endowed Chair
Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor
Email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

About Michelle Henry Barton

Dr. Barton is a 1985 graduate from the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Illinois.  She completed a one year Large Animal Internship at North Carolina State University and then completed a four year combined Large Animal Internal Medicine Residency and PhD in Physiology at the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Georgia.  Dr. Barton holds the Fuller E. Callaway Endowed Chair, is a Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor, has served the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine as the Specialty President for Large Animal Internal Medicine, and is currently serving as their Ombudsman. In addition to the appointment in the Clinical Academic Affairs Office overseeing the program for third and fourth year veterinary students, she continues to teach and provide service in the Large Animal Teaching Hospital.  

Educational Background

  • ​DVM University of Illinois, 1985 
  • PhD University of Georgia, 1990

Teaching Experience

  • ​LAMS 5150 Physical diagnosis
  • SAMS 5220 Polysystemic diseases
  • LAMS 5230 LA medicine I: urology, hematology, endocrinology
  • LAMS 5350 LA digestive diseases 
  • LAMS 5351 Equine internal medicine II: digestive diseases
  • LAMS 5313 Equine internal medicine II: cardiopulmonary
  • LAMS 5240 Problems in LA medicine
  • LAMS 5315 Equine diagnostic imaging 
  • LAMS 5415 LA internal medicine

Research Interests

  • ​Large animal cardiology
  • Neonatology 
  • Endotoxemia
  • Sepsis


  • ​David Tyler Award for Advances in Teaching, 2011
  • Josiah Meigs Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1998-99
  • Outstanding Hospital Service Award, 2006
  • Norden Distinguished Teacher Award, 1998
  • Faculty Recognition Award (Classes of 2003, 2010, 2011)
  • Beecham Award for Research Excellence
  • Young Investigator Award for Shock Research

Be part of the CVM Team. Give today!